PDA

View Full Version : commercial fertilizing

skrats
10-02-2002, 11:45 PM
can you guys lead me in the right direction
i have been cutting for four years and next spring i would like to add fertilizing to my area of expertise. Most of the lawns i cut are fertilized by a company so i have no prob in undercutting to earn the biz with the customers.
But i need to know what i need to get in terms of license etc. and how to get this.
i would be using a 52' ferris z is there a good add on for this mower to be useful

thoughts
appreciated

LonghornShortgrass
10-03-2002, 12:03 AM
Go to http://www.lesco.com and contact your local service center. They will gladly help you with any question. :alien:

greenman
10-03-2002, 12:10 AM
I dont agree with the undercutting part, though.

tremor
10-03-2002, 06:32 AM
Hello Skrats,

Here's the commercial license info:

http://www.isco.purdue.edu/index_pest1.htm

No about the "undercutting" thing.....Don't.
You won't be starting out buing anywhere near the same volume of materials as the "other guy". So your operating expenses are going to be higher no matter what.

Since you're on the properties every week, you can actually do a better job. Having eyes on the turf every week makes a big difference. Explain to the clients why you'll be able to offer them a superior service while assuring them that you must also get paid for it. Getting the business for MORE money will really be a win.

Also, the need for post emergant herbicides (dandelions, clover, etc) is at it's highest just as the mowing get's going. The more the mowing demands of your time, the more the phone rings for weeds. Will you have the resorces to deal with it?
And will "under cutting" really pay for those resources? Wait for the mowing to relax & you won't be able to control the weeds. The clients may have a smaller bill to pay. But will they pay at all when the result is poor?