PDA

View Full Version : Design Tools??? Software vs. Drafting Table

trailboss
10-03-2002, 12:08 PM
I'm just curious what you guys think is better - software or hand drawn designs??? Up to this point I have done everything by hand. I have had no formal training and wish I could make a little more professional looking design. I am thinking about buying some software just to have a design with a little cleaner look, and I figure it will be easier to alter a design done on the PC. Any comments and/or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

KenH
10-03-2002, 03:54 PM
It all depends what you are using the drawings for. If you are doing residential installs, then the software is definately the way to go. I use Designware, and the program sells itself.
If you are doing commercial work, or work off a spec sheet, then Cad-like drawings are needed, especially for builders, etc.

I have a degree in Land. Design and find myself using the computer way more than the pencil. I do mostly residentials.

lawnstudent
10-03-2002, 05:05 PM
I've trained on Auto-CAD 2000 and prefer this to mechanical drafting any day.

jim

AGLA
10-03-2002, 07:07 PM
My hands suck, so I am dependent on CAD. You still need the same understanding of drawing to be successful with CAD because it does not do it for you.
Using different line weights and building up a good library of plant and other symbols (or blocks) is essential to having good looking drawings.
I actually dropped out of Landscape Architecture in the early 80's because I could not draw at the level required. I returned in the mid 90's because I thought that CAD would be the great equalizer for me. I got my BLA and have since become a Registered Landscape Architect.