PDA

View Full Version : RoundUp


catri360
04-25-2011, 11:27 PM
I'm going to be installing new sod and was wondering if I need to kill old grass with roundup or if just using a tiller would be ok to prepare the area, thanks.

FuturePilot4u
04-25-2011, 11:33 PM
Round up may affect the new sod.
Posted via Mobile Device

Dr.NewEarth
04-25-2011, 11:37 PM
If it's not really weedy with dandelions, you can cut the grass to scalp level
topdress, fix the pH, use a quality starter fertilizer and lay the sod right over top if you like. The old grass decomposes and turns into nitrogen. I do it this way quite often.

For round-up to work properly it must be 70 ferenheit for a few days.
Read the directions and use your safety gear

You can rototill if you like. All of that extra work and raking really turns me off.

The only way I would need to remove the old sod is if it would leave the lawn area too high by laying the new sod over top.

Or, you can just remove the sod a few inches wide around the perimeter, so the new sod
slopes down to sidewalks and stuff...just an example.

PerfectEarth
04-25-2011, 11:38 PM
Roundup will have no residual affect on new sod- just don't throw it down immediately or anything!

You can lightly till.... I wouldn't go really aggressively because you're just creating more work for yourself (raking it out, re-grading it, etc)

If you scalp it down and spray it off, you'll see where the lows and highs are- you can add some nice screened soil to spread out over the dead turf... fill in where needed and amend the soil a bit with light tilling (like a high rpm tiller, Stihl, Mantis....)

BlazerRidge
04-25-2011, 11:39 PM
If it's not really weedy with dandelions, you can cut the grass to scalp level
topdress, fix the pH, use a quality starter fertilizer and lay the sod right over top if you like. The old grass decomposes and turns into nitrogen. I do it this way quite often.

For round-up to work properly it must be 70 ferenheit for a few days.
Read the directions and use your safety gear

You can rototill if you like. All of that extra work and raking really turns me off.

The only way I would need to remove the old sod is if it would leave the lawn area too high by laying the new sod over top.

Or, you can just remove the sod a few inches wide around the perimeter, so the new sod
slopes down to sidewalks and stuff...just an example.

What do you use to topdress it ?

Dr.NewEarth
04-25-2011, 11:55 PM
Use Top soil as a top dressing, sorry.

One cubic yard will cover an area approximately one inch deep and
30 feet by 30 feet
for example...
or three inches deep will cover around ten feet by ten feet...

jaybow
04-26-2011, 12:07 AM
I haven't done sod before, but never realized you could just scalp and topdress before laying sod.
Posted via Mobile Device

orlawncaresvc
04-26-2011, 12:13 AM
I'm going to be installing new sod and was wondering if I need to kill old grass with roundup or if just using a tiller would be ok to prepare the area, thanks.

We will be doing a new sod job at the end of May. We will be spaying the existing lawn which is tall fescue with Round Up Pro. If you do the spraying with a few weeks in advance there will be nothing to worry about. You won't hurt the new sod.

Dr.NewEarth
04-26-2011, 12:17 AM
I haven't done sod before, but never realized you could just scalp and topdress before laying sod.
Posted via Mobile Device

Yes, I like to work smarter not harder.

Snyder's Lawn Inc
04-26-2011, 12:18 AM
Round up may affect the new sod.
Posted via Mobile Device

Roundup only kills what it touches once its dried its done
But if you want a good kill You need to spray atleast week before you till the lawn for laying sod

catri360
04-26-2011, 01:09 AM
Thanks everyone for your replies, I think I have a better idea of what to do now and I will leave the round up alone being that it will take longer for the process.