PDA

View Full Version : Patio paver estimating help

Akprocter
04-27-2011, 04:21 PM
I am looking for some advice about estimating patio paver construction. I am fairly new to the bidding process for this type of work. I am figuring around $4.00 sq ft for the materials (using Belgard Cambridge cobbles @ 1.75 Sq Ft). I am just not sure how to bid the prep and install portion. One of my suppliers said he heard that $10-12 per sq ft (total of $14-16 sq ft total w/ materials) was the going rate, but that seems a bit high to me. Any advice in this area would be extremely helpful. I would like to get the job but I don't want to shoot myself in the foot either.

Dr.NewEarth
04-27-2011, 09:05 PM
Does your supplier have a competitor and can you check their prices?

Did you try looking here in the hardscape forum?

They can grumble a bit when you go in there, but they're harmless.
And good information....they're full of it.

lukemelo216
04-28-2011, 01:25 AM
dont bid by the square foot. And I will tell you why. Type equipment photos into the search bar, and do the titles only. Look at ETWmans thread. Hes got a project going on doing a paver patio on a roof where materials need to be craned in etc etc. By the looks of it Id say the patio is in the 1000-1500 range. You need to sit down look at the job, what it requires, and then bid it from there. Because 1 job might be extremely difficult to access with machines, require a lot of cutting, lots of hand work, etc which might turn your sqft price into $20-25 or one where you have very few cuts, lots of space for machines, etc and could be at $12/sqft.

Akprocter
04-28-2011, 09:49 PM