PDA

View Full Version : ECHO SRM-225 question/ problem

Mikol87
04-27-2011, 10:01 PM
I have a ECHO SMR-225 that is almost a year old. For some reason when ever it tips over on its side, with the carburator down, gas leaks out and floods the engine. I have a SRM-265 and it does not have this problem, neither does my Stihl FS90R. I took it into my Echo dealer and he told me to just make sure I don't tip it over. He says there is nothing wrong with it. :confused: OK Im no mechanic but come on! This is not normal like he says. Has anyone else herd of this problem? Any solutions to fix it? Im thinking my next trimmers will be STIHLS!

Georgia Lawn Works LLC
04-27-2011, 10:17 PM
If it is comming out of the carburator I'd say it is a diaphram problem. But then again I would think if it was that bad that it probably would not run. I would bring it elsewhere. You have a warranty on it for at least three years maybe five.

Find another dealer or bring it back to the original dealer and tell him to fix it this time.

topsites
04-28-2011, 01:11 AM
Your dealer could be...
And careful here because if this is not the case, you don't want to be wrong about it
but your dealer could be playing stupid while the ONE year warranty runs out.

Oh yes, you see, dealers know that about 30 days before the warranty runs out there is always a flurry of
activity as the owners of certain equipment are well aware of the date and thus dealers have learned to resist
that last minute repair, and while I can't totally blame them because some repairs truly are frivolous...
But if it leaks, it leaks!

You can not be expected to hold it some certain way, trimmers are made to be run in ANY position,
upside down sideways around back in front head over heels and three sheets to the wind, and in
any position they should not leak fuel.

That having been said, you should be prepared to pay for the repair if it isn't covered by the warranty.

Edge & Engine
04-28-2011, 09:08 AM