PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Echo PB-755H


jloveski
05-01-2011, 10:05 AM
I have a PB-755H that starts as normal, but will not run without stalling much above a fast idle. I have never been thrilled with this model, but this is crazy. Any ideas on what may be causing this? Hate to bring it into the shop if it is something minor.

thanks

Alan0354
05-01-2011, 02:31 PM
Take the muffler out and clean the port, clean the screen on the muffler. Then see what happens.

jloveski
05-01-2011, 04:47 PM
I tried that, but it did not help-seems more like a carb issue?

kietsterz
05-01-2011, 07:21 PM
i have the same issue with mine. I just have to move the choke up and down while cranking it up at the same time to find the right spot.

topsites
05-01-2011, 08:22 PM
Air filter and spark plug, gap to .020

And it may not fix the problem but lets at least eliminate these off our list.

Alan0354
05-01-2011, 08:33 PM
I tried that, but it did not help-seems more like a carb issue?

Loosen the gas cap and see whether it help. ( remote chance of cap having problem).

Change the gas filter to make sure the gas filter is not the problem.

run a tankful with at least 2 oz of SeaFoam per gallon gas.

If all the above fail, then you are talking about carb overhaul. Don't jump the gun too fast.

yes chances are your carb might be the problem, but it might be clean itself up with SeaFoam if you have the patience.

BrunoT
05-01-2011, 11:56 PM
Mine did that. Tried the various fixes above and a few others to troubleshoot it. Finally just replaced the carb with one off an older model that had seized up. Worked fine since then. New carbs are not that expensive, so unless you are skilled at rebuilding them it might be easier to just pop a new one on.

But to make sure that's the issue, try one from another identical unit if you have one. (another reason to stick with the same brand and model gear, it helps with troubleshooting)

jetta
05-02-2011, 10:45 AM
took mine to several dealers before i found one that would overide the factory (epa) settings never ran better after that

FuturePilot4u
05-02-2011, 11:38 AM
Loosen the gas cap and see whether it help. ( remote chance of cap having problem).

Change the gas filter to make sure the gas filter is not the problem.

run a tankful with at least 2 oz of SeaFoam per gallon gas.

If all the above fail, then you are talking about carb overhaul. Don't jump the gun too fast.

yes chances are your carb might be the problem, but it might be clean itself up with SeaFoam if you have the patience.

I run seafoam in every tank all the time. It helps a lot.
Posted via Mobile Device

jetta
05-02-2011, 11:46 AM
i was told to run 89 octane and no sea foam as stabilizer is in the oil, and the 89 now days has enough additives. too much additive is not good.

FuturePilot4u
05-02-2011, 11:54 AM
i was told to run 89 octane and no sea foam as stabilizer is in the oil, and the 89 now days has enough additives. too much additive is not good.

It just a different octane not different amount of additives...u run sea foam in gas not oil.
Posted via Mobile Device

Banshee365
05-02-2011, 03:11 PM
My opinion is that you are suffering from effects related to ethanol gas. If I were you I would take the carb off and take it into your local small engine shop and buy a rebuild kit for it. Rebuild the carb and you should be fine. Don't mess with the settings, just rebuild the carb. I had the exact same symptoms with my SRM-260 trimmer and this was the resolution.

Alan0354
05-02-2011, 06:56 PM
i was told to run 89 octane and no sea foam as stabilizer is in the oil, and the 89 now days has enough additives. too much additive is not good.

you don't need to run Seafoam all the time, just do it for a tank and see whether it help or not. if you don't do any fixing yourself ( rebuild carb), this is the cheapest route to try first.

Also check your linkage to make sure when you pull full throttle, that the cable actually pull the carb wide open. if that part is loose, you might not pull WOT even though you pull the trigger all the way.

ed2hess
05-02-2011, 08:45 PM
took mine to several dealers before i found one that would overide the factory (epa) settings never ran better after that
I would guess that 90% of the people that have problems with Echo just flat out don't know how to get those caps off the needles. Once they are off you can tune these machine to start good, and run good at all different kind of conditions. Sad situation.....I never ever had to replace a carb on the high end Echo stuff.

Hell on Blades
05-03-2011, 01:23 AM
Take the spark arrestor completely out.

jetta
05-03-2011, 10:23 AM
seafoam in gas yes, sorry i thought we were talking about 2 cycle echos