PDA

View Full Version : JD 997 or Kubota ZD331 or ??

sunnyside360
05-03-2011, 10:34 AM
Looking for advice and opinions on the John Deere 997 Ztrack mower with 72" deck and the Kubota ZD331 with 72" deck. I'm mowing approximately 6 acres of lawn about twice a week. 5 acres are relatively flat and one acre is on hill side. I'm looking to spend less time mowing -- even considered contracting out the mowing. I stopped by local dealers to get info and prices --- was quoted a price of $14,500 for a new 997 ZTrack and $14,600 for a new Kubota ZD 331. Or, should I be looking at other Z turn mowers?
Any advice/opinions are greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Scag413
05-03-2011, 10:50 AM
I cannot speak of the John Deere as I have no experience on one. I do have a Kubota ZD323 which is a smaller deck size and engine size of what you are looking at. I love my Kubota! I have more than enough horsepower with the 23hp diesel so I can't even imagine waht the 31hp could do! Having two separate transmissions on each wheel makes a world of differene when having to mow when the ground is wet. It also acts as a differential lock, if one wheel is stuck the other wheel's transmission continues to pull as the one which is stuck is doing the same thing. I was hesitant about the shaft drive on it but honestly I can't tell that much of a difference. It just means you don't have to replace builts all the time. Instead, you just have to maintain the shaft and it should work well for years to come. After having my Kubota, there is no way I would buy the John Deere. I would only consider Scag or Exmark with a Kubota engine on it.

06LTNox
05-03-2011, 11:12 AM
I can mirror the opinions on a ZD323. Father in law uses one on his seven acres and it is one hell of a machine. I will still go with a 997 when I replace my current mower, but I doubt either machine will disappoint.

weeze
05-03-2011, 05:58 PM
either or...either one is good

grassman177
05-03-2011, 07:48 PM