PDA

View Full Version : Help with retaining wall, paver issue

ohiogreenworks
05-03-2011, 05:31 PM
I am a hardscape newbie but willing to learn and eager to add it to our list of services. I can figure out the pricing, just looking for some input and ideas of what to do with this situation. Customer wanted just the pavers leveled. I suggested at least a drain behind the wall and pavers fixed, if not the whole wall re-done. Would like to re-use the blocks and pavers. What kind of fill around the drain? Perforated black pipe with a sock the preferred choice? Any advice or direction is appreciated. Thanks!

http://i1178.photobucket.com/albums/x379/ohiogreenworks/DSCF1028.jpg

http://i1178.photobucket.com/albums/x379/ohiogreenworks/DSCF1026.jpg

http://i1178.photobucket.com/albums/x379/ohiogreenworks/DSCF1024.jpg

http://i1178.photobucket.com/albums/x379/ohiogreenworks/DSCF1027.jpg

zedosix
05-03-2011, 10:26 PM
Why is it up so high, can it not be brought down to ground level to avoid the wall. I imagine that the wall only goes part way around the pool so thats why there is a wall... correct?

TomG
05-03-2011, 11:18 PM
If this was my job, I would re-do the wall. The wall is already leaning and will probably eventually fall, especially with the load of the pool above it. But I would move it out 3' or so from where it is now. I'm guessing this wall has no stone behind it...There is no way to take the wall down and excavate back so you can put stone in behind it without the fill collapsing out from under the pool. You can reuse the block and brick, just move the wall out 2'-3'ft. If the customer insists on just redoing the brick, I would walk away, your just asking for a bunch of call backs because the wall will probably keep moving and leaning out, thus the pavers will keep settling.

DVS Hardscaper
05-03-2011, 11:29 PM
remove the pool and be done with it.

it'll cost more to do the pavers and block correctly than the pool is worth.

Dr.NewEarth
05-03-2011, 11:58 PM