PDA

View Full Version : Lawn Care Life

Ijustwantausername
05-04-2011, 03:53 AM
Hey guys/gals, this is the first post for me and its seemingly the most important one I will have. Let me just say this is an awesome site and I thank you for your ideas and input.

I have been in the business about 5 years, which consists of lawn care, minor landscaping, foot massage, etc (just kidding about the foot massage :). I started it just as I entered Community College and grew it while attending a University. I graduated last May with a B.S. in Business Mgmt. I have started doing this full time with roughly 30 accounts, commercial and residential. I am a one man crew occasionally hiring a friend or two for really large jobs. Lately my phone has been ringing off the hook, 3-4 calls a day, thanks to my marketing late hours of the night at school when I should have been studying statistics.

To make this short, let me just say that I am getting burnt out with it. The sneezing, the dust, the trimmer shooting rocks at my head, the bouncing almost completely off my zero turn seat from hidden holes in the yard, the flat tires, you get the picture. I am very fortunate that I have a job and that I am able to be my own boss. But seriously, is this the life of a lawn care guy? Some days I just want to quit. Is this normal for this industry? What struggles/hardships do you go through that drive you batty? Thanks.

coreisntlife
05-04-2011, 03:57 AM
it's not for everybody. if you're not happy where you are, you should always change. life's too short. not to mention there's guys out there that would love to take those properties off your hands if you weren't happy with them.