PDA

View Full Version : Who has a diesel Walker?

forbidden
05-04-2011, 11:01 AM
We are looking at adding a second Walker mower to the business. I have zero experience with the diesel model but have found what appears to be a good deal on a used one. It is equipped with a 54" deck and GHS. It has a little under 500 hours on it and has had minor service work done. What are the pitfalls to the diesel powerplant?

gene gls
05-04-2011, 08:18 PM
We are looking at adding a second Walker mower to the business. I have zero experience with the diesel model but have found what appears to be a good deal on a used one. It is equipped with a 54" deck and GHS. It has a little under 500 hours on it and has had minor service work done. What are the pitfalls to the diesel powerplant?

I had a 1997 Walker diesel, GHS unit. It over heated very easy with my 62" SD deck in heavy grass. It started very hard in cold weather and no one could figure out why. Also, the rpm of my diesel was 3200 and the decks and my Buffalo Turbine blower would not perform as well as with my gas unit.

JDiepstra
05-04-2011, 08:26 PM
I don't have a diesel mower but diesel technology has come a long way since 1997. I imagine the only two downfalls these days would be that they are heavier and more expensive than a gas engine. However, they should last longer, are more efficient, and throw down more torque than a gas engine.

forbidden
05-04-2011, 11:17 PM
I have the room to haul it, weight is not an issue, knew of the extra torque being beneficial, have the contracts to put it to work. Now to consider the downfalls if we can find them. I have a line on a used one at 430 hours and I am going to have it inspected before pulling the trigger on it. Our gas Walker has been great, 2500 + hours original engine and minor repairs but it is still going strong. Anyone else with some info on the unit?

electric
09-23-2011, 05:39 PM