PDA

View Full Version : Simple retaining wall question

Marinucci_Landscaping
05-04-2011, 07:56 PM
Hey all,

I have a painfully simple retaining wall question. I'm a young landscaper, not a hardscaper... but I do have some customers that have me put in very basic walls (I highly doubt you would call them that). We are talking Home Depot brick simple. I live in NY and the ground freezing and shifting is an issue. My question is, what do you sink underneath a wall to compensate for it being above the frost line? I know weight matters here, but we are talking one or two levels of 20lb brick, max.

I've been told a few different things, and I'd really love some clarification from the professionals, as it has been eating away at me whenever I build one of these simple little walls. Firstly, go down 3-4 inches, pour in crusher run, tamp, top with a paver base and tamp again until flush with the ground. Second, dig down 3-4 inches and pour in two different sizes of paver base, and tamp and adjust at each level. Third and final would be all of one paver base or all crusher run.

I'm pretty "disinclined" when it comes to hardscaping, so any simple advice or suggestions here would be great. One good natured user here recommended for me to check out a site, Allanblock, but it was still a little difficult for me to wrap my head around, so here I stand. Thank you in advance.

- Marinucci

JDiepstra
05-04-2011, 08:36 PM
One or two levels of brick? At my house I have a 2 level wall that I dug out the grass, made the dirt level, and threw the bricks on top of it. After 7 years it is still perfectly level. Around 3 trees in my yard I have 2 levels of bricks. I put the bricks down on top of the grass and to this day they are also as level as the naked eye will ever know. That's in Michigan... plenty of freeze and thaw cycles.

Marinucci_Landscaping
05-04-2011, 11:07 PM