PDA

View Full Version : Trimming ornamental grass

South Florida Lawns
05-06-2011, 12:23 AM
I have a bunch of Sand Cord grass that is out of control with growth. Its hanging over parking spaces and too far onto sidewalks. I have no experience with trimming it. My one guy said you just hack it back, but I'm worried as I have seen grass die this way. Also if thats the way to do it can they be trimmed this time of year? Its very hot and dry. I have a feeling this stuff grows fast so maybe I will be trimming a lot throughout the season.

Florida Gardener
05-06-2011, 12:47 AM
South

You have to trim most ornamental grasses back periodically or they get thatchy and start to decline. In particular, purple fountain, fakahatchee,etc. I am sure you can cut back the cord grass as well to flush out new growth. I use hedge shears to cut grasses back.

South Florida Lawns
05-07-2011, 01:40 AM
Dianond you are the man.

Ric
05-07-2011, 09:14 AM
South

Diamond is correct and a pair of power hedge trimmer is sometimes the only answer. However combing Ornamental Grass with Pitch Fork on a regulator bases can keep it looking great.

RigglePLC
05-07-2011, 10:43 AM
I spent several hours cutting back ornamental grass at a large botanic garden yesterday. We used a trimmer with a saw blade designed for brush. Cut back to 6 inches tall. May I suggest you tie it up in a bundle and then cut with hedge shears or power equipment. Throw the bundles on a trailer to haul away. Tough going. Some ornamental grass are tough--they don't cut easily.

South Florida Lawns
05-07-2011, 11:47 PM
I decided against totally cutting back (at least right now) but rather trimming the sides up, the grass is just planted too close to the parking lot. Its gonna be a mess we have aprox. 250 to trim Monday.

bamaturf
05-11-2011, 10:31 PM
we do it like this . have i guy bend it over & the other guy with hedge trimmers
cut it off just at the thickest part low. that means if your trimmers wont go thru