PDA

View Full Version : South Florida Landscape Maintenance

dleonard77
05-09-2011, 04:26 PM
I'm a landscaper from New Jersey and am branching down into south florida to start up a property/estate management business. Not being from around here, I was wondering if anyone had any tips, advice, or warnings as to what I should do regarding what herbicides and pesticides should be applied on high quality lawns, and what the whole process is as far as removing and planting different types of annuals and perennials. I feel like the general upkeeps: lawn cutting, edging, mulching, bush trimming, power washing, etc. are pretty much the same as that of up north, but any advice as to how I can make this a success would be greatly appreciated.

Florida Gardener
05-09-2011, 04:36 PM
What part of south Florida and do you already have accounts lined up? Things are waaayyy dif in Florida than NJ.
Posted via Mobile Device

j-ville native
05-09-2011, 04:39 PM
wear sunscreen

dleonard77
05-09-2011, 04:55 PM
It's generally around the West Palm Beach area. And I have several realtors that are using me for accounts and hooking me up with jobs. What are some of the major differences that I'd have to deal with down here?

Florida Gardener
05-09-2011, 04:59 PM
Palm beach island?? First off, if you aren't licensed you can't spray. Secondly, if you have to ask what to use on high maintenance turfs, you may want to think twice about doing those types of accounts. If you are going to be maintaining zoysia, Bermuda, seashore paspalum, you need a reel mower. Second, the ornamentals in Florida vary greatly and all require different pruning. Do you have any specifics??
Posted via Mobile Device

dleonard77
05-09-2011, 05:22 PM