PDA

View Full Version : 3500hd load size?


grassman88
05-17-2011, 10:30 AM
how many yards of loam shoul my 3500hd be able to handle without a problem, i finally got it back with the new motor(installed under warrenty!) i put 5 yards of loam in it and it hauled it alright that was a heavy load was i over waight?

All_Toro_4ME
05-17-2011, 10:46 AM
I see people overloading their trucks all the time when I go to the sod farm. Last week a customer had the forklift driver load an entire pallet of sod into his Chev S10. The whole backend sunk way down and the body was dragging against the tires. Why not just use your trailer to pull that weight? Just because you have a 1 ton doesnt mean you have to load it up to the max and put strain on everything.

ron mexico75
05-17-2011, 11:12 AM
Look in your manual. I have a 2500HD 6 ft bed and it will carry 3400 pounds.

I think loam weighs in around 2400 pounds per yard. If that's correct then you would be hauling 12,000 pounds.

grassman88
05-17-2011, 02:47 PM
yea 3500hd have a 16,000lb gvw the worst part about it is the hoist wouldnt lift it haha so had to scoop out 2 yards with the skid steer i found that it has a bad ground and will be running the ground right to the battery after the first 5 yard load i will only put 4 yards it it now and the truck has no manual does anyone know where i can get ones for a 2000 3500hd with 6.5L

grassman88
05-17-2011, 02:55 PM
I see people overloading their trucks all the time when I go to the sod farm. Last week a customer had the forklift driver load an entire pallet of sod into his Chev S10. The whole backend sunk way down and the body was dragging against the tires. Why not just use your trailer to pull that weight? Just because you have a 1 ton doesnt mean you have to load it up to the max and put strain on everything.

i would never haul 5 yards on my trailer i have over loaded my chevy 2500 befor a couple time im not going to lie but never so much the tires where rubbing. did break a spring once tho now it have big springs with 9 leafs on it and hardly moves. but i just got my 2000 chevy 3500hd with 10' dump and after the motor was installed its been great just woundering how much is to much for this truck

ParkWelding
05-17-2011, 06:35 PM
Go over a scale and you will know.

Impressions Landscaping
05-17-2011, 09:57 PM
First off a 3500HD is 15,000GVW, second, how much you can haul all depends on how much your truck wieghs empty. My 3500HD wieghs 9000lbs empty, so legally I can only carry 3 ton or 6,000lbs. Find out how much your truck wieghs empty and that will tell you what you can carry legally. However, 5 yards of loam is roughly 11,000-12,000 lbs. So I highly doubt your truck wieghs 4,000lbs. I'd say 5 yards sounds a little bit excessive for that truck.

nepatsfan
05-17-2011, 10:00 PM
how many yards of loam shoul my 3500hd be able to handle without a problem, i finally got it back with the new motor(installed under warrenty!) i put 5 yards of loam in it and it hauled it alright that was a heavy load was i over waight?

You were over weight for sure....especially if it was wet, but guaranteed overweight.

grassman88
05-18-2011, 11:34 AM
i ment to say 15,000 and im only putting 4 yards of loam in it now still might be a little over weight but body lifts it and truck handles it fine. the main reason for putting that much in it was i just got the truck back from the dealer who put a new motor in and i wanted to work the hel out of it to make sure it didnt die on the first load like when i first bought it

salopez
05-19-2011, 07:35 AM
thats a good way to break in a new motor.

cat320
05-19-2011, 08:33 AM
thats a good way to break in a new motor.

I was thinking the same thing i would at leat run the truck around with out straining it before housling to just get it broke in with the new motor. as far as weight you can carry more than a 1 ton but not much more better to make a few small loads instead of one big one. in my opion .

grassman88
05-19-2011, 10:02 AM
i had to drive it 2 hours home from the dealer on the highway and this dealer is an a joke so if it broke down the next day they would have no choice really to fix it and it was fine just babied it i was surprised at how much more power it had compared to the original motor