PDA

View Full Version : Commercial Property Mowing Estimate Help?

E-lawns
06-01-2011, 12:51 PM
I will be submitting a bid for mowing a commercial property, which the area is approximately 26,000 sqft. It will take about 2hrs to complete the job (mow, blow, and edge). This will be my first commercial bid, and I am trying to figure out how I should base my rate.

My question is: Should I base the rate on residential sqft. pricing, ie. $36 per 5000 sqft of turf? Knowing my low overhead, what formula should be used to generate the pricing and equipment paid for. Your help is greatly appreciated, as I am new to the business, and respect your seasoned knowledge.

Thanks

starry night
06-01-2011, 01:26 PM
Does your overhead and operating costs change if you are on a commercial vs. a residential lawn?

If you have calculated your rate properly , then there is no reason
why the two would be any different. JMO

E-lawns
06-01-2011, 01:45 PM
With my equipment paid for, the highest overhead cost are man hours and insurance. Insurance is constant and manhours varies. Based from your response, I guess I am headed in the right direction. Just want to make sure I am not cutting myself and the business short. thanks Dirtandhoops

starry night
06-01-2011, 02:13 PM
On the other hand, it is cheaper to do one location at 26,000 sq ft than it is to travel to four different locations to do the same amount. And is this commercial location more open and obstacle free than your typical residentials or is it more difficult?

E-lawns
06-01-2011, 02:35 PM
The commercial property is pretty much open, not to many obstacles, just a few small tree beds. And i agree with you, it is cheaper to service this commercial property for about 2-3 hours a week versus, driving to 4-5 residential properties. I have been trying to think of all the advantages and disadvantages. There are not many disadvantages. So far, I have come up with $145.00/cut for 26,000sqft.

XLS
06-01-2011, 03:05 PM