PDA

View Full Version : fertilizing

TheLawnCareGuy
06-02-2011, 02:06 PM
Hey everybody, im just getting into starting a lawn care buisness and i am confused about fertilizing lawns. I know there are fertilizers such as lime and winter care but i have no clue as to when to use them and or others. any help about when you need to or should fertilize lawns to keep the nice and green would be greatly appreaciated!

Thanks

Matt

LandscaperPro
06-02-2011, 03:02 PM
These guys on here know more about this than me, but I used to own a lawn installation co and i used a starter fert. of 19/19/19(triple 19), or a 24/13/19. Just to get the the roots started quicker. Lime should only be used after getting a soil test. If ph is to low I think, us use lime to decrease acidity. After that triple 13 is decent for just spring and fall applications. Always spray for weeds before fertilizing in the spring. No need to feed weeds, and then your grass will block light on the bare spots left from the weeds. If I'm not right, these guys will let ya know.

Thanks,
Blake
LandscaperPRo

Ijustwantausername
06-02-2011, 03:19 PM
Hey everybody, im just getting into starting a lawn care buisness and i am confused about fertilizing lawns. I know there are fertilizers such as lime and winter care but i have no clue as to when to use them and or others. any help about when you need to or should fertilize lawns to keep the nice and green would be greatly appreaciated!

Thanks

Matt

There is a Pesticide and fertilizer section a little lower on the main forums page. Also, do you have a pesticide license? You need one to apply anything to treat "pests" for a fee on someone else's property.

topsites
06-02-2011, 04:23 PM
Excuse me, have you taken the yard Lesson course 101b "Surprise consumption of dog fecal matter with trimmer string" yet?
It is a required course for all new arrivals wishing to become bona fide lawn boys,
agreed it isn't the most fun but everybody has to take it, no excuses.