PDA

View Full Version : What wrong with this Japanese Maple?

Choppasuit
06-05-2011, 10:23 PM
My lawn client want to know whats going on with this tree. Any help would be appreciated thanks.

lukemelo216
06-06-2011, 08:27 AM
im not a tree expert or a disease expert so hopefully someone who is will chim in, but to me that simply looks like lichen and moss growing on the tree. It really doesnt pose any threat to the tree as far as diseases go, but lichens do usually grow on trees and shrubs that are in poor or declining health. So I would recommend pruning the tree, and maybe hitting it with a shot of fertilizer and just monitoring it. If it doesnt have well drained soil it wont do good either and it should be in partial sun as well.

White Gardens
06-06-2011, 09:10 AM
That tree looks toast with the splits in it. I've taken out a few Jap Maples in that condition as they were dying.

It almost looks like it's reach the end of it's life-span.

Think Green
06-06-2011, 09:06 PM
Improper pruning techniques.....stub cuts.....and probably borer holes somewhere on the bark basal side.
Age could have a lot to do with this..........but most times, improper growing conditions or competition from grass and other factors lead to their demise.

The winter you guys sustained this season definitely did this tree in. I am sure there will be plenty more other trees that will decease after time goes on.

Dr.NewEarth
06-06-2011, 09:15 PM
Improper pruning techniques.....stub cuts.....and probably borer holes somewhere on the bark basal side.
Age could have a lot to do with this..........but most times, improper growing conditions or competition from grass and other factors lead to their demise.

The winter you guys sustained this season definitely did this tree in. I am sure there will be plenty more other trees that will decease after time goes on.

Bad pruning, internal decay. There could be other things, but I'm not
seeing what I need to in the picture.

Choppasuit