PDA

View Full Version : How to price this job?

MrDirt8
06-05-2011, 11:39 PM
I am new to the business...i have been doing landscaping for about 5 years, but i have become new to this quoting idea and it's tough. A customer needs 6 yards of mulch delivered and installed....mulch from 25 to 30 per yard from supplier and then a delivery fee usually on top of that.

They also need roughly 45 bushes trimmed that are for the most part below waist level...they are burberry and boxwood type bushes for the most part. The customer also needs 250 linear feet of flower bed edging done with one of the walk behind bed edgers

Also 8 bushes removed that are about three and a half feet tall by three feet wide...i would have to get some roots out too....minor weeding and bed prep involved with the edging

:confused:

Any insight would be greatly appreciated and i hope i added enough to get a rough quote to help me out :usflag:

lukemelo216
06-05-2011, 11:51 PM
well the mulch should be pretty simple. We simply sell the mulch at retail price from the supplier. So if we are buying it for $24/yard and the company will sell it to homeowners for $28/yard well thats our price to them as well $28/yard. We figure 45 minutes to 1 hour per yard. So thats $26-30.00/yard in labor. So its sold at $54-58/yard. For regular ds hardwood brown.

We can snag 6 yards by ourself, so we will generally just charge like $50 in fees for delivery. IF we have it delivered, we add 10% to the delivery price from the company.

For those small bushes, it isnt going to be too bad, becasue you can clean up majority of the debris, but the littler stuff doesnt need to be since your re-mulching. I would figure on about 3 minutes per shrub with cleanup, so your looking at like 3 hours more or less on that.