Darryl G
06-05-2011, 11:58 PM
I ran across this add today. It seemed like an outrageously good deal so I figured it was probably a scam but thought I'd inquire about it anyway. So I sent a mail asking where the tractor was located because I'd like to take a look at it.
Here's the ad: http://newhaven.craigslist.org/gms/2407169929.html
Note that my mail program flagged the mail with this message "This message looks suspicious to our SmartScreen filters."
And here's the reply I got, copied and pasted.
Hi,
Thanks for being interested in buying my tractor. The price is 5200 dollars. The price does include shipping and insurance to your address. I will ship it via a reputable shipping company and it will take almost a week depending on your location.
Let me know if you are interested.
Thanks
Interesting, no name, no contact phone number, no location and they'll ship it to me without even knowing where I am with shipping included in the price. I bet if I search Craigs List in other cities the ad is listed there too. And I bet somewhere the legitimate seller is also trying to sell it, but not for $5,200!!!! And I bet this seller wants me to send payment via Western Union!!!
So should I string them along a bit? Hehe.
Oh yeah, I used a "junk" e-mail address I have.
Here's the ad: http://newhaven.craigslist.org/gms/2407169929.html
Note that my mail program flagged the mail with this message "This message looks suspicious to our SmartScreen filters."
And here's the reply I got, copied and pasted.
Hi,
Thanks for being interested in buying my tractor. The price is 5200 dollars. The price does include shipping and insurance to your address. I will ship it via a reputable shipping company and it will take almost a week depending on your location.
Let me know if you are interested.
Thanks
Interesting, no name, no contact phone number, no location and they'll ship it to me without even knowing where I am with shipping included in the price. I bet if I search Craigs List in other cities the ad is listed there too. And I bet somewhere the legitimate seller is also trying to sell it, but not for $5,200!!!! And I bet this seller wants me to send payment via Western Union!!!
So should I string them along a bit? Hehe.
Oh yeah, I used a "junk" e-mail address I have.