PDA

View Full Version : John Deere 757

tacovic
06-11-2011, 10:48 PM
Im going to look at a 2008 54" JD 757 with a 23 hp kawasaki with 400 hours tomorrow. Its got the 7 iron deck. Anything I should be looking for? This will be my main mower so I need a reliable machine with a nice cut. Whats everyones opinion on this mower?

lawnsrme
06-11-2011, 11:05 PM
We have a 757 and a 737. 757 has a 25 hp and the 737 has a 23 hp. I like the machines but they had overheating issues. Both of ours had a screen put in to keep debris from getting into the airflow chambers in the heads. I'm not a mechanic or anything just what i was told. our 737 had a new motor at about 700 hrs and now has around 1400 hrs and the 757 had some head work done around 800 hrs and now has around 1600 hrs. Everything was covered under warranty. I try to keep everything blown out good because of the overheating. Havent had any problems so for. I put in synthetic oil 15w50 after the warranty was up. The one is starting to leak oil pretty good. Other than that not bad.

Had problems with the one of the wheel motors and the pump on the 737. was under warranty. no problems with the 757, all original. Over all I like the mowers. Keep the oil and filters changed and keep everything greased good and it'll probably be a good mower for you.

tacovic
06-12-2011, 12:01 AM