PDA

View Full Version : New Zero Turn - Which One?

rcav8er
10-21-2002, 04:04 PM
:dizzy: Hi Guy's , Please pardon the questions of a newbe, but I'm in the market for a new Zero Turn as I'm just getting started. I have just signed some larger accounts (4 acres +) and I'm in need of a upgrade. I have looked at the Toro 44" compact and I'm going to look at the Lesco 48" or possible larger. My question is reliability and overall reputation of these two mowers? I can't go to large with the deck as the majority of my accounts are small residential (less than 1 acre). Is anyone mulching or is that even an option with this type mower?
Thanks in advance, this site has allready been a great help !

Piedmont Lawn
10-21-2002, 05:30 PM
Hi,

I just went through the same thing buying my first ZTM. I did some searches can came up with this, some cuss at one brand that another loves but in the end that all love commercial mowers. I went looking around at several brands eXmark, Toro, John Deere, Great Dane, Grasshopper and Gravely. I bought a Gravely because they are close to me 6 miles, they only sale Gravely. They have been in business a long time, have excellent mechanics and a large parts department plus I got a very good price. If something is wrong with it they will come to my house pick it up fix it and bring it back. Gravely is not the popular brand on this forum but several are around. Do some searches on this forum about the mowers you are looking at and you should come up with a lot of info about how users like them and problems they have had.

Look for:

Parts
Service
Dependable reputation
Fair price

Buy the mower you are comfortable with and you like. Iím not sure about dealers in Gastonia didnít look there but you have Green line on NC27 just east of Lincolnton The have JD and something else, Bobcats ? There is a Hustler dealer over around Rutherfordton and you should be able to find just about anything else in Charlotte.

Kelly

rcav8er
10-21-2002, 07:44 PM