PDA

View Full Version : duramax owners; how to make sure its got the Allison tranny?

Ecoscapes
07-17-2011, 09:50 AM
I'm looking to slightly downgrade from my 07 F350 srw diesel into a truck with higher miles but less debt. Maybe it dosen't make sense because higher miles may mean more repairs but I'm patient to find a one owner diamond in the rough. I tried a newer chevy 2500 duramax the other day and it seemed more powerfull than the ford, didn't tow with it but the power was very much there, the ford seems sluggish with heavy towing, and I keep hearing good things about the allison tranny for towing. I"m looking at duramax's with 80000 miles or so, and want to make damn sure its got the allison. Is the only way to tell by the emblem on the side of the truck? I'm not a mechanic but there must be a way to make sure its the allison, by looking at the tranny for certain features? Thanks for any tips!

cat320
07-17-2011, 09:54 AM
well i'm sure the allisons had the external spin on filet so if it has one of those i'm pretty sure it is an allison

4B LawnCare
07-17-2011, 12:21 PM
To the best of my knowledge, all of the duramaxs have the allison behind them. I think the vans did not.
Posted via Mobile Device

JDiepstra
07-17-2011, 12:41 PM
I also believe all Duramax's come with the Allsion. Regardless, I'd still go with a Dodge with a Cummins. Something 04 - 07.

watatrp
07-17-2011, 10:07 PM
The 8.1 gassers are available with the Allison also. Side note: I know a guy with a transmission shop. I asked him at one time what was the best transmission. He said an Allison. I asked him why. He said that he'd never seen one in his shop that needed a repair.

jimmyjack
07-17-2011, 10:10 PM
if its a dmax its got a allison in it , its the only way them come if its a auto.....if its a stick if a zf6 and if its a dmax in a work van then ita 4L80E cause them allison wont fit under the hump in the floor

rcslawncare
07-18-2011, 12:11 AM