PDA

View Full Version : Make sure you call your utility markouts!

shovelracer
07-25-2011, 07:24 PM
Well today was a first for me. Ive been excavating (as part of the landscape jobs we do) for 15yrs, and 8 years on my own. Today with one solid swipe I managed to wipe out all the electrical based utilities of the house we were working for today. Also managed in the process to knock out the transformer for the street. Got some nasty looks from neighbors this afternoon. We did as always though call for markouts, and were cleared as of this morning. Turns out someone messed up and the wrong house got marked. One of the companies tried blaming us, and then the tech tried flagging it post damage, so I took some pics of the guy to go with my pics of the unmarked damage. When I got back I made sure to file away my printouts of the marking notification with the shady company right on top.

So my point is that every one should call in their markouts every time. This was a backyard job and utilities are almost never in the back around here. Could have very easily turned into a very expensive day. It takes 5 minutes to do it right, and doesn't cost anything. Call before you dig for your own sake. Not to mention your customers.

DVS Hardscaper
07-25-2011, 08:11 PM
Almost 2 years ago we had a job where the utility locating guy mis-marked the power line ........by about 20-feet!

The cable and phone got wiped out. And I missed the power line by an inch.

Last week I called MD's Miss Utility to have lines marked for a new home not on the map and not on GPS. They wanted not just driving directions (turn left here, turn left there), but they also wanted distances for the directions! As in go 1 mile, then go 108 yds. I don't know the freaking distances. They refused to process my request. And they told me