PDA

View Full Version : scag tiger cub flooding

michael30512
07-28-2011, 04:01 PM
i work as a small engine mechanic. we have a tiger cub that keeps flooding, we have replaced the fuel pump, brand new carb($341) and everything else we can think of and it seems like there is a vacuum problem because it runs ok gravity fed but the pump works off a vacuum to the engine, i don't know. somebody please help!!! it keeps flooding!

dlawncare
07-28-2011, 09:12 PM
make sure that the fuel cap is venting

Restrorob
07-29-2011, 06:47 AM
Take a gander; http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=144040

Just for info.... A non venting gas cap will cause lack of fuel not flooding while running.

michael30512
07-29-2011, 08:02 AM
We did , we had the gas cap off completely off. Still same results. We also changed all the fuel line but its gettin to much gas, its not that its not getting enough. Its got me stumped!! ???
Posted via Mobile Device

michael30512
07-29-2011, 10:09 AM
head gasket???
Posted via Mobile Device

retrodog
07-29-2011, 10:21 AM
We had an engine that gave us fits like that, and after doing all the technical stuff possible, we noticed there was a small little line that ran off the carb that looks like a fuel line, but it releases fumes, just goes to nothing. It had a little dirt stopping it up, and was causing it to run terrible, felt like a fuel issue. We even went as far as check the new fuel pump we had ordered to make sure it wasn't defective out of the box...lol. I originally thought it was the gas caps not venting, its weird how your gut instinct is usually right on the money we just have never even thought of that, you might really look over the motor and look at every little line..

michael30512
07-29-2011, 11:31 AM
that is for sure worth looking into, we've already spent over 500$ trying different approaches on this problem. Ill be mad at myself if it is something that simple. Especially since we have the head off right now changing the head gasket.