PDA

View Full Version : Looking for advise on building and bidding a retaining wall

Barrett Landscaping
07-28-2011, 08:05 PM
Just got back from looking at a client's yard where they want to have a retaining wall built. The dimensions are 75' by 3' tall above ground. I know that I will need to have the area dug out with a mini ex and set the foundation and go from there. My question is what are you guys getting on average per linear square foot? Also, although this is a relatively low wall, do you think i need geogrid since it has erosion? I am relatively new to doing walls but want to learn. Here are some pics. Please let me know what you think.

Barrett Landscaping
07-28-2011, 08:13 PM
and some more....

Barrett Landscaping
07-29-2011, 08:20 AM
bump on up

jonesy5149
07-29-2011, 09:23 PM
ok here is one??????
Are you keeping all those trees on the top of the wall??

BradLewisLawnCare
07-29-2011, 09:43 PM
Versa-look.com read. That's what I use.
Posted via Mobile Device

Barrett Landscaping
07-29-2011, 11:11 PM
ideally i want to keep as many trees as possible. dont want to remove many since they help hold the hill. do you guys think that i need geogrid although this is a smaller wall?

BradLewisLawnCare
07-30-2011, 10:47 AM
geogrid is cheap compared to the wall. I would include it every time. If it starts tipping, you will have wished you put it in when/if they call you.

Barrett Landscaping
07-30-2011, 01:45 PM
thats what i was thinking... i know that that does mean that i need o dig another 3 feet into the hill, but time is money. if i use geogrid, how do you guys factor that into your bid? I was planing on charging $20/ linear foot but that would not factor in geogrid

Bru75
07-30-2011, 03:53 PM
$20.00 per linear foot will barely buy the blocks.
Forget about linear or square foot pricing, you'll lose your a$$ that way. Figure up your time + material cost + machinery cost + overhead + profit.

DVS Hardscaper
07-30-2011, 04:36 PM
Correct.