PDA

View Full Version : How to pay a door hanger/sales rep

alegrier
07-31-2011, 08:09 AM
Hello All,

I'm about 3 years into my lawn treatment business and I'm planning on brining in someone on a part time basis to find communities and door hang with possibly a bit of door to door. I'm currently teaching somone who to make the sale should and when they encounter homeowners. I don't want to pay this person hourly or by salary. I want to a commission which they are fine with. My question is how should I set this up. I'm curious to know a company like Scotts or Trugreen pays their sales rep. Does anyone know the answer to this? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
AL

DiscoDave
08-03-2011, 08:00 PM
I am a salesman/manager for a lawn and landscape company.

I am paid a base salary plus a commission.

PlantscapeSolutions
08-06-2011, 01:25 AM
Usually it's best to use an outside company where you have a fixed price per household for door hangers.

GoneFishin'
12-21-2011, 10:22 PM
I know this thread is old but anyway... I worked for TruGreen as a residential sales rep. They payed salary (worked out to about $15 an hour or $30k a year base) plus commission. They paid a front end commission (upon sale) and a back end or production commission when each application was produced. I forget exact percentages but the commission worked out to be around 10 percent I think.

alegrier
12-22-2011, 09:16 AM
It's never too late. Thanks for the response. I'm actually still working on putting together a compensation plan so this information is helpful.

Green Scape
12-22-2011, 12:00 PM
Usually it's best to use an outside company where you have a fixed price per household for door hangers.

And where do you find one of these "companies".....even most temp. agencies will not hire door to door sales work b/c of the insurance and liability.....

Maybe i'll start a business where all we do is door hang!

WeedWhipper
12-30-2011, 06:57 PM