PDA

View Full Version : Boulder lighting help

STL Ponds and Waterfalls
07-31-2011, 10:10 AM
On my current project I was planning on using some Kichler LED 15733 spot lights to uplight some boulders. I'm new to the LED world and when I tested a light they are a lot more brighter than I want for this small area design. I also testd the newer under water light 15711 and they seem to be just a little to overpowering as well.

My original plan was (8) 15733 spots for 3 boulders and 3 pear trees with the last 2 spots for a waterfall, (2) 15711 for 2 more boulder. All the boulders are a 2x2x2 size average. (8) 6" wall cap lights all in a 40X30 backyard area. I'm afraid it's going to look like daylight with all these fixtures in a small area. What do you lighting pros think or suggest for the boulder lights? The look I was going for was just a small light to enhance the boulders from below and not to make them standout.

starry night
07-31-2011, 06:11 PM
What kind of area surrounds the boulders? (turf, mulch, gravel?)
And where is this area in relationship to the rest of the project?
It's hard to make suggestions without being able to see the area.
I would think the 15733 would be too much light for 2x2x2 boulders if at the same time, they could light a pear tree.

starry night
07-31-2011, 06:26 PM
Maybe path / spread fixtures with mini-LEDs by each boulder if the boulders are spaced far enough apart. Closer boulders = fewer fixtures.

STL Ponds and Waterfalls
07-31-2011, 06:31 PM
The surrounding area will be pavers and grass. The boulders are acting as pillars at the end of some seatwalls. 3 of the boulders I can set the light in turf that's why I went with 15733 and 2 of the boulders will be in the middle of a paver section at the ends of a circle seatwall. For thos 2 I was going to use the 15711 core drilled and recessed into the pavers. I need a 1 watt LED in the same style as the 15711.