PDA

View Full Version : GDD Calculator

tremor
10-26-2002, 11:11 AM
I have a Growing Degree Day calcualtor (Excel based) that was built for Ag use. With some help, we can rebuild it for T&O use.

Who wants in?

Steve

RMDoyon
10-26-2002, 01:51 PM
Okay I'll bite.
What is a Growing Degree Day?

tremor
10-26-2002, 02:53 PM
It was quicker to steal this definition than I could type it.

Please keep in mind that this is a sterile definition of the term, but one can see the relevance & how we can use this data to accurately predict everything from when Chinch Bugs will begin to show and crabgrass will germinate to (with accurate input data) the time of day that Gypsy Moth Catepillars will hatch.

Heating days are not if interest to us. That's for the use of energy providers and large scale fuel consumers (though commercial greenhouse operators would find it useful).

The calculator I have requires a minimum of 2 daily entries. The high & low temperatures. It makes adjusyments for different crops & pests, which is why I think it will be useful for Turf & Ornamental pest prediction. For my own purposes, I have added cloud cover, humidity, soil temerature, & precipitation data points.

Steve

Degree days are computed from each day's mean temperature (max+min/2). Each degree that a day's mean temperature is below or above a reference temperature is counted as one degree-day. The amount of fuel necessary for home or industrial heating is indicated by the mean temperature for that day. Estimates are that most people use their furnace when the mean daily temperature drops below 65F.