PDA

View Full Version : Hunter 2 wire?


Eagleseye
08-11-2011, 08:23 PM
Need some thoughts from u guys. Have an existing apt. complex that I have under maintence contract, and the irrigation has taken a direct hit from lighting. I have tested the system and found damage to about 37 zones. The wire has melted through out propert, even into mainline, never seen nothing like it. ( up till now ).

Their insurance is going to cover the repairs, except for 2500.00 deductable, was thinking about converting to a 2 wire system. It is more money, but they all willing to do it. The main reason for the 2 wire convertion is, I'm thinking about plowing in the wire, vs. trenching. Approx. 6300 feet worth.

Any thoughts? Yeh or Nay

Sprinkus
08-11-2011, 09:09 PM
Just do it!
Hunter will work or Weathermatic Smart Wire.

DanaMac
08-11-2011, 09:11 PM
How does 2 wire do with lightning strikes? Or the module or whatever it is called that attaches to the valve?

HokieAg07
08-11-2011, 09:45 PM
Two wire is very vulnerable to lightning. It is imperative that the controller and two wire path be grounded; two wire path grounded every few hundred feet (varies per mfg)

Without A Drought
08-11-2011, 09:54 PM
Interesting topic. I have an install coming up in sept/oct, that i spec'ed 2wire. It's roughly 35 zones, nothing too crazy. I figure it'll be a nice intro to 2wire, as i've never installed one.

tips and pointers welcome.

Sprinkus
08-11-2011, 10:15 PM
tips and pointers welcome.

Wire splices are critical. Do them yourself or do them yourself.
Use a high quality connector 3M DBY, DBR, DBRY. Don't use pre-filled wire nuts.
Get a good UF Cable Stripper (http://www.kinginnovation.com/products/tools/uf-cable-stripper/), don't try to use a knife to cut back the jacket on the jacketed cable.

SPEEDSKI
08-11-2011, 11:05 PM
Wire splices are critical. Do them yourself or do them yourself.
Use a high quality connector 3M DBY, DBR, DBRY. Don't use pre-filled wire nuts.
Get a good UF Cable Stripper (http://www.kinginnovation.com/products/tools/uf-cable-stripper/), don't try to use a knife to cut back the jacket on the jacketed cable.

This is the #1 thing to remember!!!! Let me say it again, WIRE SPLICES ARE CRITICAL!!!

Make sure you do the splices with the proper grease packs as stated, but also make sure you have a good set a Linesman Pliers, Wire Strippers and cables strippers.

Just about 8 out of 10 issues with 2-wire end up being the connection. Hunter ACC is nice equipment with built in surge. YOU DO NOT NEED SURGE EVERY 200 FT. ACC has the surge built into each decoder.

No 2-wire requires surge every 200ft. We have installed RB, Hunter ACC & DUAL, and TUCOR. 800 - 1000ft is the norm.

We have almost 20 ACC installs and what I do like about the Hunter is the new ICD programmer. Works great for installing and service. If they run you into a budget and you only have to deal with 37 zones. Go with the DUAL, less expensive, but you will have to put sugre every 1000ft.

The DUAL is pretty cool. Love the ICORE controller.

koster_irrigation
08-12-2011, 06:23 AM
Like sprinkus said above^^

king innovation makes a UF stripper that is a life saver for 2-wire cable.

Not many people know about it, but its similiar to a potato peeler. It is a MUST for anyone working with UF wire, strips it in seconds safely.


same link...
http://www.kinginnovation.com/products/tools/uf-cable-stripper/

FIMCO-MEISTER
08-12-2011, 08:06 AM
Only one major problem with 2 wire as I see it. You are stuck using the proprietary remote. Just for that reason alone if I was to do two wire I'd use Rain Master Control Systems. I'm not even sure they have 2 wire but if they don't I'd wait til they did.

Sprinkus
08-12-2011, 08:09 AM
Only one major problem with 2 wire as I see it. You are stuck using the proprietary remote. Just for that reason alone if I was to do two wire I'd use Rain Master Control Systems. I'm not even sure they have 2 wire but if they don't I'd wait til they did.

Rain Master TWICE (http://www.rainmaster.com/twice.htm)

FIMCO-MEISTER
08-12-2011, 08:21 AM
There you go. Add communication cards as well. Only controller I'd consider considering all the bucks being laid out.

Mike Leary
08-12-2011, 03:18 PM
I'd agree Decoder-based systems are dangerous in lightning areas, mostly due to lack of grounding. In Maxi-Com school, we were hammered with the importance of grounding grids, soil condition and the addition of salts to give a better ground. What was suggested all installers have was a "Megometer". Luckily for us up here, lightning is very seldom a problem.

www.megger.com/us/products/ProductDetails.php?ID=132&Description=

1idejim
08-14-2011, 12:19 PM
to coin a phrase from you boss grounding is "paramount"

grounding is the first thing i check when inspecting and analyzing a 2-wire system.

Wet_Boots
08-14-2011, 01:40 PM
to coin a phrase from you boss grounding is "paramount"

grounding is the first thing i check when inspecting and analyzing a 2-wire system.How are you measuring grounding quality?

1idejim
08-14-2011, 01:50 PM
How are you measuring grounding quality?

short to earth measurments/ resistance

Mike Leary
08-14-2011, 08:47 PM
How are you measuring grounding quality?

What?, you listening to old Fred Neil records? :hammerhead:

wiki.answers.com/Q/what_is_a_megger_test

agrostis
08-14-2011, 08:59 PM
So what kind of grounding and lightning protection would any of you like to see in a lightning prone area like Florida ? I have seen lightning do all kinds of damage and i am curious about this.

Wet_Boots
08-14-2011, 09:00 PM
What?, you listening to old Fred Neil records? :hammerhead:

wiki.answers.com/Q/what_is_a_megger_testlike hell you are connecting a Megger to a 2-wire system.

I'm listening to someone who gets by without too much drum kit

SmhP1RgbrrY