PDA

View Full Version : To DMK395

dschulte
10-28-2002, 10:17 PM
DMK395 - hey. Im a sales pest. My background is sales and Im relentless. I do a couple of things alittle different then some of the guys but it seems to work.
1). Every commercial customer I have I buy someting from. Whether its gas, donuts, mowers, etc.. I buy from them. This accomplishes a few things. You are constantly seeing the customer and developing a relationship. When he sees you its usaully when Im adding to his bottom line which makes them happy. While developing the relationship you hit them up for referrals and additional services. Its amazing how much money you can make on bush trimming, mulch and weed control. Really adds up.
2). Commercial customers like long term contracts with escape clauses. They are also used to signing contracts.No busy manager in his right mind (with the exception of Wal Mart managers) want to go through bidding processes every year. Its a huge time waster. Lets face it - contacts arent worth much. As long as a customer pays you for services rendered to date, no court in the world will hold them to a contract for services beyond 30 -45 days. Its all psychological (?). Keep them happy, do a good job, stay in their pocket and they will tell any bidding LCO that they are locked for the next 3 years.
3). Find the commercial customers that currently have crappy curb appeal. The only way to take an account from a competitor is if the rates are way out of line or they do a lousy job. Why waste time calling on an account that has great lawns? If they look good the only way you are going to get them is by low balling which we all know doesnt pan out.