PDA

View Full Version : 14 foot single axle? HELP

Greenlandscaping
08-13-2011, 12:11 AM
I need a bigger trailer. Right now all the fall jobs i have set up the only way i can do them all is if i get a bigger trailer so i will be able to run my exmark and craftsman. My old man and i. They both have baggers. In the fall time is tight i only have about 20 hours of landscaping i can do a week. Thats why i tell all my clients to call and schedule now. Im a full time student. If i were to haul this 14 foot trailer with a craftsman rider, exmark 60 inch turf tracer, little wonder high output blower, and a toro 21 inch with a toyota tacoma v6 would it do alright? http://www.trailersplus.com/Utah/Murray/Trailers/CarryOn/4YMUL1410BM023286.php:confused:

PlantscapeSolutions
08-13-2011, 12:51 AM
A 14' single is a fragile trailer that will be very damage prone. The weight balance will be a challenge as well. You will find fish tailing will be more of a problem if the weight load is off even a little. With a 60" and other stuff on the trailer one good pothole or bump will be all it takes to damage the bearings and eject a wheel.

Spending as little as $200 to add a second axle would be money well spent. You should plan on spending some money for electric brakes and a controller as well. With a Tecoma a 14' trailer is going to be more then the truck brakes can handle. You'll end up wearing out the trucks brakes prematurely and your stopping distance will be dangerously extended.

Falcon50EX
08-13-2011, 10:34 PM
A 14' single is a fragile trailer that will be very damage prone. The weight balance will be a challenge as well. You will find fish tailing will be more of a problem if the weight load is off even a little. With a 60" and other stuff on the trailer one good pothole or bump will be all it takes to damage the bearings and eject a wheel.