PDA

View Full Version : HELP MOWER Will not stay running!

rcrowetz
08-24-2011, 09:31 PM
I have a Gravely Promaster 200 Mower with a Kawasaki 17hp The thing will start up but dies shortly after. I have placed a new carb on it and same thing...

If I hold the choke closed it wil stay running a bit longer but the engine idles down and up while doing so then...dies... I cant figure it out.

Thanks

Rob

BradLewisLawnCare
08-24-2011, 09:40 PM
My kaki does same thing! Except I've paid hundreds to have everything fixed yet it still does it only longer interval
S. Started at every 20-30 then mowed to every hour once carb was cleaned...
Posted via Mobile Device

ALC-GregH
08-24-2011, 09:44 PM
You'd be better off taking it to a small engine shop and have them look at it.

BradLewisLawnCare
08-24-2011, 09:46 PM
That's where I spent hundreds. They started by doing small reapirs. Clean gas tank oil change clean carb and new spark plugs. Then they ran without blades on for an hour. I ran w blades on next day and it wanted to shut down from fuel starvation after being hot running 45 mins
Posted via Mobile Device

BradLewisLawnCare
08-24-2011, 10:01 PM
http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=357449&page=2
Posted via Mobile Device

rcrowetz
08-24-2011, 10:11 PM
Bradlawncare,

I never opened the inside of the crankcase etc.. and as far as I know it never overheated so you are saying it could still be the governer if so isnt it inside the block and a pain to change?

greatinmulchbeds
08-24-2011, 10:17 PM
have you checked the fuel line? use your fingers and pinch all the way up line, it may be as simple as a clog...I had the same problem awhile ago, some how leaves and grass compacted into a ball in the line.

weapons of grass destruction
08-24-2011, 10:25 PM
should move this to the mechanic & repair section.
There are some good mechanics there

Lugnut
08-24-2011, 10:32 PM