PDA

View Full Version : Pumping for Lake for Irrigation system


tonyvol
08-26-2011, 06:00 PM
Hey guys, I need some advice. I would like to pump water out of a 15 acre lake that is behind my house for my irrigation system. I'll need to run 750 ft of pipe from the lake to where my current county water ties in. Plus this will be all up hill. I have 6 zones with 4 to 6 K2 large sprinkler heads. I would like to get 40 psi to the heads. Not sure if this can be done with out breaking the bank?

http://www.k-rain.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=k2smartset.smartset&CFID=68073064&CFTOKEN=12407586

Thanks,
Tony

AI Inc
08-26-2011, 06:22 PM
It can be done. The real question is should it be done. Where are you locted, how expensive is city water there, are there water bans that are making it tough to keep your lawn green.
So lets first discuss if it should be done.

Wet_Boots
08-26-2011, 06:23 PM
How far uphill? What is the flow into the current system?

tonyvol
08-26-2011, 09:59 PM
Hey guys, I spent $500 on water last month and watered 4 times for a 1/2 hour per 6 zones.

How do I determine the flow to the current system?

Thanks,
Tony

earthmgtsolutions
08-26-2011, 10:57 PM
what kind of heads??? If they are maxi-paws, What color is the nozzle?? How many per zone??

Wet_Boots
08-27-2011, 06:45 AM
Hey guys, I spent $500 on water last month and watered 4 times for a 1/2 hour per 6 zones.

How do I determine the flow to the current system?

Thanks,
TonyIf you are buying water, do you have a water meter?

IRRITECH
08-27-2011, 07:22 AM
If you are in Cumming, Ga send me a PM. We put pumps on Lanier all the time. It will depend on your elevation change as to how much water and pressure you can get. Expect to spend around $2-$3K

tonyvol
08-27-2011, 08:29 AM
If you are buying water, do you have a water meter?

Yeah, I have a water meter.

Wet_Boots
08-27-2011, 08:42 AM
Yeah, I have a water meter.If you have a wristwatch to go along with the meter, you can calculate the flow in your sprinkler zones.

tonyvol
08-27-2011, 09:02 AM
what kind of heads??? If they are maxi-paws, What color is the nozzle?? How many per zone??

Thanks Wet Boots. So is there a calculation that is used to determine the water flow? Or do I just note how many gallons per minute for each zone? When I find out the water flow for each zone, how do I use that number to see if pumping from the lake will work?

Eartmgtsolutions, I have between 4 to 6 K2 sprinkler heads with 2.5 GPM nozzles over 6 zones.


Thanks Again,
Tony

rlpsystems
08-27-2011, 09:03 AM
Berkley sshm2 ... wire hydro zones together.......

Wet_Boots
08-27-2011, 09:09 AM
Thanks Wet Boots. So is there a calculation that is used to determine the water flow? Or do I just note how many gallons per minute for each zone? F&^%$ yeah!! When I find out the water flow for each zone, how do I use that number to see if pumping from the lake will work?

Eartmgtsolutions, I have between 4 to 6 K2 sprinkler heads with 2.5 GPM nozzles over 6 zones.


Thanks Again,
TonyYou need to define your system with numbers, and match them up with a pump

FIMCO-MEISTER
08-27-2011, 10:52 AM
If you are in Cumming, Ga send me a PM. We put pumps on Lanier all the time. It will depend on your elevation change as to how much water and pressure you can get. Expect to spend around $2-$3K

Here is the guy you need OP. If nothing else pay him a consulting fee to be sure you get it right.

Wet_Boots
08-27-2011, 11:05 AM
do you get a cut of the consulting fee? payup

FIMCO-MEISTER
08-27-2011, 11:15 AM
No but my likability factor goes up.

earthmgtsolutions
08-27-2011, 07:36 PM
Ok tony, take the 2.5 gpm times the number of heads per zone. so 6 times 2.5=15 gpm. is what you need. Now, make sure your pump can proved this flow with at least 40 psi (using a pump flow chart), in addition to the loss of pressure from lake to mainline connection. You can find those numbers online or I can help you more directly. You can email me @ Rodger@earthsolutionstoday.com

earthmgtsolutions
08-27-2011, 07:41 PM
Hey tony, I am guessing a 2hp Munroe Pump will do ya. It has a 2" output for your mainline

BrandonV
08-27-2011, 09:34 PM
Big thing is also what kind of valves you got. The hd orbits dont hold up well to the dirty water.

IRRITECH
08-27-2011, 09:51 PM
Tony, I'll call you tomorrow and we'll see if we can get this sorted out for you. Thanks for the replies guys, he lives here in town, we'll get him fixed up.

tonyvol
09-01-2011, 12:01 AM
Hey guys, I was wondering if you can help me? I called around to several irrigation companies and nobody will call me back. So I've decided to do the install myself. I installed the irrigation system that I have now. My neighbor has some basic equipment to measure elevation, so below are the measurements we got. Will I be able to pump enough water to run 1 zone at a time?
I was think about getting a Berkley pump(sp.) not sure which? What else will I need to install the system bysides wire to run the pump?

Here is what I have:

6 zones with 6 rotor sprinkler heads 2.5 GPM
3 zones in backyard 2 zones with 3 rotor 2.5 GPM sprinkler heads ea, 1 zone with 4 pop up heads
Backyard elevation is 77 ft. from lake
Front yard elevation is 113 ft. from lake
400 ft of 1 1/2 pipe to backyard
Another 200 ft of 1 1/2 pipe to front yard
500 ft of wire to run pump(will get with electrician to see what size)

Thanks for your help,
Tony

Wet_Boots
09-01-2011, 12:48 AM
How about you make some measurements of the actual flow? Stop with the "2.5 gpm heads" crapola. Man up and do the job right.

tonyvol
09-01-2011, 06:57 AM
How about you make some measurements of the actual flow? Stop with the "2.5 gpm heads" crapola. Man up and do the job right.

Thanks Wet Boots, I know... I know. You mentioned that in a previous post. I'll do what you said and calculate the flow at the meter says. So just get a stop watch and determine how many GPM each zone is putting out? So basically, turn on a zone and then go to the meter and in a minutes time see how many gallons shows on the meter. Easy as that? Right? Thanks for getting me back on track. I really appreciate it.

Kiril
09-01-2011, 09:28 AM
You might try nozzling your sprinklers correctly first.

tonyvol
09-01-2011, 10:20 AM
You might try nozzling your sprinklers correctly first.

Thanks for the excellent suggestion.

Wet_Boots
09-01-2011, 10:45 AM
the thing is, you have to provide accurate data all the way - and when you can clock the meter and get an accurate number for flow, that is what you have to do