PDA

View Full Version : Walkway Upgrade Help - Photo attached

Darryl G
11-01-2002, 12:49 AM
Hi - I would like to upgrade my front walkway and gain some experience installing concrete pavers and block walls at the same time. The attached photo shows the existing bluestone walk (it was here when I bought the house).

I would like to install pavers, extend the beds in front of the porch to the walk, and install low block walls on both sides of it. I'm figuring that I can have the walk slope up some, but will have to cut into the slope and install a set of steps about half way up or it will be too steep. I haven't measured the rise or run yet. I may even choose to replace the wooden porch steps with block and pavers while I'm at it.

Does this sound right? I've never done this before. Would I be better off trying something easier for my first job, like a patio or something (I need one of those too). Then there's the retaining wall for the drive-under garage...it's make of loose-laid rubble!

Thanks in advance for any thoughts.

Darryl

Darryl G
11-01-2002, 01:27 AM
Here's a photo of that wonderful rubble retaining wall. You can't see the walk in this photo because the stones are recessed into the ground, but it comes up a bit to the right of the little magnolia tree, which is also visible in the first photo. Judging from this photo, I need to come up about 6 feet over the length of the walk.

Guido
11-01-2002, 01:07 PM
You say the drop is somewhere around 6' I would put in more than one step. Maybe two different steps at different lengths?

Darryl G
11-02-2002, 01:16 AM
Guido - Thanks for the reply. I'm wondering why nobody else has any thoughts. That retaining wall drives me nuts (there's one on the other side too). It would be hard to rip it out with the porch there, and the deck is over the one on the other side.