PDA

View Full Version : Doubles plus catcher

wattsup
11-03-2002, 05:14 PM
Does anyone run doubles with a grass catcher? Would it work, is it feasable. I am buying a Super Z with a catcher and wonder if this would be a good set up. I have never used a catcher before, but I need one for leaf removal. Thanks.

rodfather
11-03-2002, 05:18 PM
In the Fall, we run double Gators on all our mowers. Run through the leaves once or twice and make a wind row. Then vac them up.

Said and done.

wattsup
11-03-2002, 05:21 PM
Why do you mulch and then vac them up? Like I said I have zero idea how this should be done.

rodfather
11-03-2002, 05:26 PM
We mulch them some so we can get more material (leaves) into the barrels (catcher, for you). This in turn means fewer number of times to empty the barrels.

Time is money...the faster we can do the job, the more profit there is.

P&J Lawncare
11-03-2002, 06:40 PM
Running doubles with the bagger on a super z will work but it really beats up the clutch because of the extra blades and the bagger being tied into the spindle. We have no problem bagging with single blades and in my opinion the super z is the best bagging system around so there is no need to run doubles with it. I do run doubles when I am not bagging and I have posted on the hustler forum what blade combo's work the best for me.

LAWNGODFATHER
11-03-2002, 11:29 PM
A debate about mulching vrs bagging.

http://207.44.158.62/~admin2/showthread.php?s=&threadid=35978

John DiMartino
11-03-2002, 11:33 PM
I ran doubles last yr and bagged,If it was real thick,id mulch the lawn,then throw on the bagger chute and suck it up,id get a lot more in the hopper.I have a separate engine on my trac vac,so it doesnt pull off my dixies engine.I wouldnt try it with a super z,with the electric clutch unless your running a peco or a vac that is self powered,not driven off the spindle,too much load to get started,IMO.

PaulJ
11-04-2002, 01:30 AM