PDA

View Full Version : Water Cooled mowers and Exmark/Toro

Green Pastures
11-03-2002, 10:15 PM
It's very important for me to hear from people who have had DIRECT experience with the equipment that I am asking about. PLEASE, if you have a comment that is something you have just "heard" at least preface your comment by telling me that it is hearsay. PLEASE. Thanks.

I'm getting another ZTR this fall. The deals in my area are just to good to pass up.

1. I have a Toro 52" Z-master w/ Kohler 25 air cooled, somebody who I respect keeps telling me to look at liquid cooled mowers. What do you think? Does it lower wear due to the lower operating temps? Is it just for lowering the temp. of the "bubble" of hot air that seems to follow you around on a ZTR? Let's hear what you think.

2. In my opinion, Toro and Exmark are the same mower, EXCEPT for the deck. I like the SFS deck on my Toro, but am willing to try these new Ultracut decks. I will take my own advice and demo them both before buying, but tell me what your experience is. If you've owned and or operated both the SFS and the Ultracut. What are the strengths. For instance, I hear alot of the Exmark guys talking about the mulching qualities of the Exmark decks, well I always side discharge where I use ZTR's so I dont see a need to get a deck that is better at something that I will never use. These are the types of issues that I need addressed.

Thank you guys......

TLS
11-03-2002, 10:43 PM
Here are some of my thoughts on your questions.

I like my 27HP LC Lazer...a LOT! Right now me and another Lawnsite member are experiencing coolant hose leaks, but these don't seem to be widespread, so I don't know.

Never used the TORO SFS deck personally. But Unless YSM makes "The Director" OCDC for it, I wouldn't want it.