PDA

View Full Version : Newbie trying to prepare for next season ?'s

jermana232
09-14-2011, 01:12 AM
Hi I'm a college student in Carbondale, IL. First off I have no experience in lawn care or landscaping besides mowing my own yard with our basic push mower and weed whacker. I would like to get prepared over the winter to start mowing the next season.

I plan on doing small to medium sized residential yards. I also plan on doing this out of the back of my '95 F150. I will be purchasing a decent push mower and weed whacker. I have no problem putting in a hard days work.

1. Is it possible to be successful with a push mower?
2. What would I do with the clippings? Rake them up? (remember, no experience)
3. I plan on charging per job rather then hourly. Do you collect your payment every job, once a month etc...?
4. Do you tell your customers that you cut once a week, once every two weeks... Or do they tell you what they would like done?

Thanks for the taking the time to read this. I don't plan on getting rich but I would like to have some extra income. Like I said, no experience but I am more then willing to spend this fall/winter getting everything set up and figure out my game plan.

Also, is there any type of basic "independent" work that I can do over the Fall and Winter? I've got a truck and I don't mind investing in the tools/equipment. I've already read about doing Christmas lights and decor, any other suggestions?

Thanks again.

Dr.NewEarth
09-14-2011, 01:18 PM
You want to maximize your productivity.

Get a decent rear wheel drive mower with a rear bag and a mulching blade.
At least 6 horse power. Then you can bag or mulch.
Expect to spend 5 or 6 hundred.
-buy an extra mulching blade
-maintain your machines at least once a week and learn how to fix things on the fly.
-learn how to grease your wheels and gears

There are alot of discussions on equipment maintenance on this site.