PDA

View Full Version : Starting father/son business

Bl22619
09-22-2011, 06:48 PM
Hello, I am new to this and interested in some feedback. My father and I are looking into purchasing a zero-turn, a walk-behind, a push mower, weed whacker, edge trimmer and backpack blower. I am personally fond of Scag for the mowers, Stihl for the whacker and edger and Echo for the blower. These do seem to be rather expensive options and was hoping for a less expensive alternatives. Also what size zero-turn would be best for small residential lots 3/4 acre and under. Should the baggers be purchased with the zero-turn mower? We have decided 32" would be best for the walk-behind to fit easily through gate doors. We have a 6x12 enclosed trailer and a full sized pick up for towing. We have decided to compete with local competitors at $35 1/4 acre and under, $60 1/2 acre and under, $80 for 3/4 acre and under. If any one has a basic guideline we could use to determine our overhead and profit margin. We both have landscaping experience and are both mechanically inclined and just want to start off with the best equipment that will last a few seasons. Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

GravelyWoman
09-22-2011, 08:01 PM