PDA

View Full Version : need some advice

Boycea
11-06-2002, 12:35 AM
I am currently a college student who maintains 40 properties on the weekend with one other worker. Right now i am using a 36" Gravely belt drive, and a 48" Lesco Hydro with a sulky. We are able to get all 40 lawns done on the weekend without a problem. Next year my employee will be moving and i dont feel like going through training someone else. I was thinking of cutting back to about 30 or so properties and selling the gravely and lesco to purchase a used walker. My lawns are average sized lawns with two big commercial properties. Do you think a walker would be able to handle this amount of jobs in a weekend with one operator, moreso than just the lesco and gravely?Is their anything I should look out for if buying a used walker? I am attracted towards a walker because of all the great feedback i am hearing when doing a search on them. I also do many fall cleanups, and it seems like a walker would aid in doing these a little faster and better. Thanks in advance for your help.

65hoss
11-06-2002, 12:50 AM
Going from 2 mowers running to 1 is going to slow you down some. Then on top of that a Walker is slow. Walkers are good mowers, but with the kind of production you need you may want to demo the walker and a few midmount Z's before you decide.

greenman
11-06-2002, 01:04 AM
I agree with Hoss. If you need something fast, go with a midmount ztr. Walkers are great mowers, but for smaller places that need detail.

MOW ED
11-06-2002, 09:39 AM