PDA

View Full Version : Kentucky Bluegrass Overseed

bassplayer7
10-01-2011, 07:24 PM
It worked out for me to seed a yard with KBG this year. I'm not very experienced with KBG as I've done more with Fescue.

Anyway, to get to the point. I seeded this yard on September 9 with Lesco's quality blue blend. I believe germ. rate on the bag is about 85%. I cut it at 1", aerated it (4x), seeded (1.5 - 2lbs per K), fertilized, and sprayed Tenacity. It has been watered well (flat lawn - no runoff).

It's been 4 weeks, and there has been very, very little that sprouted. The only apparent area that has really sprouted is an area of bare dirt below a tree, and even that is thin and coming up slowely. Is there something that I'm missing here?

The only thing I can figure out would be if I've made an pesticide application (such as Pre-M) mistake. But I've been aware of overseeding, and been watching labels. It's been a long time since I've applied Dimension, but I can pull the exact date.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Exact Rototilling
10-01-2011, 08:18 PM
Subscribed
Posted via Mobile Device

Smallaxe
10-01-2011, 10:59 PM
What did you do to cover the seed with all those chunks of plugs lying about? 4X over makes a lot of mess... was there any grass left?

bassplayer7
10-02-2011, 09:06 AM
I didn't cover the plugs with anything. There was still a nice amount of grass left. Everything was watered in (plugs and seed) within a week due to rain and irrigation to where you couldn't see the plugs or seed.
Posted via Mobile Device

RigglePLC
10-02-2011, 10:01 AM