PDA

View Full Version : When is it time to buy a ZTR?

bommaritro
11-08-2002, 03:53 PM
I have spoken with a few LCO's in my area most of them have quite a few jobs and crews working for them so in my eyes as a startup they have a fair sized business. As I was talking to them the conversations switched to larger mowers. When I mentioned something about ZTR's they looked at me as if I had 10 heads. They said that they cost to much and aren't worth the investment. So I quickly asked what they use instead they all rattled off Stieners and John Deere. They all appeared to be older guys so maybe they were set in their ways. The one thing that they kept saying is for the cost of the ZTR they could buy 2 walk behinds and hire another crew.

Now after going through this board I have seen that many of you run ZTR's. So here is my question at what point in your business (I am a solo operator now and plan on being one far at least 2 more years) would you think it would be a good idea to upgrade form a walk behinds to a ZTR?

Ron

rross
11-08-2002, 04:04 PM
The ZTR will undoubtedly decrease teh time it takes you to do your jobs. Yes,in most cases they are relatively expensive, but the time you save is completely worth it. When I started it was just regular lawn tractors and push mowers, then acouple of additions to properties came, money increased to over 1500 a week, and we decided that it was time to purchase our first ZTR. It has saved a ton of time, and really increased our productivity. It depends on how busy you are now? Money income from your business? You have to also consider the space of the properties you wil be cutting. 1/4 acre customers don't always like having a 1/2 ton machine in there small yards, they think its over kill. I use mine in large properties, I have no complaints, but next year I am starting on the residential side as well, and have to invest in a walk behind too. :blob2:

AztlanLC
11-08-2002, 04:33 PM
I agree with rross