PDA

View Full Version : Per brick pricing on retaining wall

corban
11-08-2002, 06:08 PM
I have a job of removing an existing retaining wall (just placing bricks to the side) and putting it back. The foundation of the house is cracking and has to be fixed. The wall has to be removed in order to fix the foundation. These are the larger bricks (about 12" wide, 30 lb.) It is only 3 bricks tall and about 20 ft. long. There are roughly 150 bricks total. Right now I'm thinking of charging $1 per brick to remove and 2$ per brick to put back. I may charge 3$ per brick on the base. Also, the original installer placed them on just dirt. Should I put gravel on the base before I reinstall? I am new to this type of job. Please help.

IBGreen
11-09-2002, 01:45 PM
You should charge at least $5 a block to install. That way all of your expenses are covered.

Brandon Shaw
Evergreen Landscaping Concepts

corban
11-10-2002, 04:33 AM
I have no expenses. The bricks are already there. I just move them out for the bob cat and put them back when he is done.

Henry
11-10-2002, 09:26 AM
After that bobcat is done you won't be able to just put them back. The machine will most likely make a mess of the area. Yes you should set them on a stone base and that will be an expense.

Lanelle
11-10-2002, 04:59 PM
What is the wall retaining? If the Bobcat has dug out dirt around the foundation, who is going to put it back and grade it properly? My guess is that you will end up doing that after you get the wall in place. More time and cost. And definitely use a compacted CA-6 base.

dschulte
11-10-2002, 07:02 PM
What is a compacted ca 6 base?

PAPS
11-10-2002, 08:52 PM
Originally posted by dschulte
What is a compacted ca 6 base?

CA-6 = crushed limestone aggregate with fines. ;)

dschulte
11-11-2002, 07:13 PM