PDA

View Full Version : Jobless to Lawn Business??

moneyclass
10-19-2011, 10:14 AM
HI everyone i'm new here actually my first post been browsing thru this site alot and getting lots of good info but my question is.....

Just lost my job few months ago and there is seriously no jobs out there so been thinking of next spring starting a landscaping biz. I have no knowledge and no equipment any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Georgia Lawn
10-19-2011, 10:37 AM
moneyclass,
sorry for the job loss, this is however the perfect time to get up your clientele. First you need to get some basic knowledge, maybe read a book from home depot about lawns. Once you have a understanding of how high to cut the grass and how to edge a yard start getting your clients lined up. We used flyers to get our customer base up. If you are looking to get clients for mowing try putting out a flyer for fall yard and leaf clean up. This is a great way to up sell them maintenance services in the spring while giving you a little income. Some will ask you if you do other services any way. Try to put out as many flyers as possible like 10,000 asap. Good luck, spend a little money on your flyers and get some money coming in.

JDiepstra
10-19-2011, 11:03 AM
Do you have money to buy equipment? Whats your budget? Do you have anything??? Tow vehicle? Trailer? Mower? Anything? And what is your motivation to get into lawncare? Is it something you have a passion for or does it just seem easy to get into?

moneyclass
10-19-2011, 11:05 AM
Thanks!!! Yeah ive been reading you need to spend alot in marketing to get your name out there.

Any advice on some equipment to start buying?

moneyclass
10-19-2011, 11:10 AM
Do you have money to buy equipment? Whats your budget? Do you have anything??? Tow vehicle? Trailer? Mower? Anything? And what is your motivation to get into lawncare? Is it something you have a passion for or does it just seem easy to get into?