PDA

View Full Version : Rainmaster Remote on Hunter Pro-C


mx315
10-26-2011, 03:39 PM
I have a new maintenance account with a 7 zone Pro-C controller. I've tried a 12 and 24 zone pigtail connected as the directions say, but getting nothing using the remote. I've never had a problem connecting to a larger controller on our commercial properties.
Is there a trick to hooking up a pigtail to these smaller home controllers?

irrig8r
10-26-2011, 03:50 PM
Which post are you getting power from? I haven't tried my Rain Master with any Hunter clocks.

And if you encounter a lot of these clocks you might want to buy the medium range Hunter remote. (I think they discontinued the SRR.) The Smartport installs in about two minutes, or maybe a half hour if the clock is inside and you go to the outside of the same wall with it.

Mike Leary
10-26-2011, 03:53 PM
Should not be a problem, I don't have the RM wiring call-out on board, Peter may come on. I'd bet it's the common or the 24-volt connection that's off. You need a hot 24-volt connection, have you put a vom on the terminals to see?

mx315
10-26-2011, 04:04 PM
I connected the Blue/white to the port listed as 24V and the Red/white on the common for the 12 station pigtail. I tried both 24V screws with the 24 pigtail yesterday, but I didn't have my meter.
I don't get a beep when I connect the remote base to the cable, like I do on the commercial controllers

Mike Leary
10-26-2011, 04:09 PM
I connected the Blue/white to the port listed as 24V and the Red/white on the common for the 12 station pigtail. I tried both 24V screws with the 24 pigtail yesterday, but I didn't have my meter.
I don't get a beep when I connect the remote base to the cable, like I do on the commercial controllers

Seems to me, there are two common wire possibilities and, I may be wrong, two 24-volt wire connections. Yes, it should beep, have you checked the remote battery?

mx315
10-26-2011, 04:15 PM
Remote is good. I used it on a commercial property this morning. I will check it with a meter and see if it's getting power to the pigtail.
thanks

Mike Leary
10-26-2011, 04:17 PM
It's got to be in the pigtail, did you buy it from a guy named Fimco? Do you have the chart for wire color and number for the pigtail? I looked on the RM site and could not find it, if you can send it to me, I'll be glad to look at it. WTF Hunter is up to, I have no clue.

mx315
10-26-2011, 04:39 PM
I got the pigtails from Peter. Here's the chart from Peter's website.
http://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0040/7642/files/Station_Number_with_address.pdf?1287589389

mx315
10-26-2011, 04:42 PM
http://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0040/7642/files/Station_Number_with_address.pdf?1287589389

DanaMac
10-26-2011, 04:45 PM
I know that all the controllers I have installed on, there are two 24 vac terminals. One will work, and one will not. I test by having a solenoid handy in the remote case, touch one wire to the common, and the other wire to a 24 vac terminal. If it clicks, I hook to that one. If not, it should click from the other terminal.
Still possible that it is in the pigtail.

Mike Leary
10-26-2011, 04:51 PM
We've only had one problem with Peter's pigtails and it was a factory wiring problem. I would check continuity on the pigtail or substitute it if you have a spare.

mx315
10-26-2011, 04:53 PM
I've tried 3 pigtails, thinking the 24 I had yesterday was bad. I tested with a 12 and 24 today. I'm headed over with a meter and will check the 24V posts to see if only one is hot.
thanks guys

Mike Leary
10-26-2011, 05:26 PM
Of course, there is a option other than a Hunter clock, 'course there is no pigtail, so Peter is screwed.

mx315
10-26-2011, 05:53 PM
Got it working. AC2 the top post on the ProC. The first pigtail was bad, no fault of Peters though. It got wet with two stroke oil in toolbox
Posted via Mobile Device

Mike Leary
10-26-2011, 05:55 PM
Got it working. AC2 the top post on the ProC. The first pigtail was bad, no fault of Peters though. It got wet with two stroke oil in toolbox :clapping::clapping::clapping:

AI Inc
10-26-2011, 06:32 PM
Do you store your 2 stroke like Kirl installs his backflows? Backwards

Mike Leary
10-26-2011, 06:49 PM
Do you store your 2 stroke like Kirl installs his backflows? Backwards
:laugh::laugh:

Kiril
10-26-2011, 09:39 PM
Do you store your 2 stroke like Kirl installs his backflows? Backwards

Not backwards you ass ... and my installs are up to code ... which is more than you can say.

http://www.lawnsite.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=118005&stc=1&d=1219602219

Least I am not a bumbling idiot who can't figure out how to turn a ball valve on/off without injuring myself.

FIMCO-MEISTER
10-27-2011, 09:16 AM
We've only had one problem with Peter's pigtails and it was a factory wiring problem. I would check continuity on the pigtail or substitute it if you have a spare.


No it wasn't. My return rate is less than .01% The wrong 24v was used.

The way pigtails are made is a 60" wire is cut. A DB pin connector is put on each end. They are plugged into a continuity checker. If there is a problem it shows up immediately. Every single pigtail is factory tested before being sold.
I did start removing the unused spares on the 32 station since some seem confused by the extras that were unattached. We buy the 32 station cable in strands of 40 so after you hook up the 35 wires it left 5 unattached spares. This seemed to confuse some so we started snipping them off at the loose wire end. I buy in massive quantities which is the only way I can give those prices with a high standard of production. This stuff isn't coming out of your local Radio Shack.

Pigtails>>>>Made Proud>>>>>Made Well>>>>Made in America


@MX glad you got it fixed. I kept a captured Richdel solenoid in the remote box to determine the hot 24 volt. Station Master is good for that as well. Am curious as to how engine oil messed it up. I'm guessing a pin got coated or corroded.

DanaMac
10-27-2011, 09:18 AM
I kept a captured Richdel solenoid in the remote box to determine the hot 24 volt.

Same thing here.

FIMCO-MEISTER
10-27-2011, 09:23 AM
By the way here is the guide in color. Some find that easier to follow. Send me a PM with an address and I'll mail out stiffer copies for your cases to you.

mx315
10-27-2011, 10:08 AM
My commercial crew leader put some of the pigtails in the side box of the truck and the oil spilled in there. It got soaked in oil laying in the toolbox, tried to clean it but it must have messed up the connector or something.
Thanks for the help guys.

Mike Leary
10-27-2011, 12:27 PM
No it wasn't. My return rate is less than .01% The wrong 24v was used.

I assume that was the pigtail that Russ had problems with. I was gone and never heard what happened. So it was pilot error? I stand corrected. :waving:

Wet_Boots
10-27-2011, 12:31 PM
we need oil-proof mil-spec packaging for all pigtails :p