PDA

View Full Version : winter rye grass

bradsmowing
11-06-2011, 10:01 AM
Does anyone put rye grass seed down for there customers in the winter I have been doing it for 4 years make the lawns look great all winter long.

Florida Gardener
11-06-2011, 10:10 AM
Does anyone put rye grass seed down for there customers in the winter I have been doing it for 4 years make the lawns look great all winter long.

I did it on a couple of St. Aug lawns last winter that have patchy CG areas.

A lot of guys(mainly on the high-end homes) put it down on Zoysia and Bermuda lawns.

Landscape Poet
11-06-2011, 10:25 AM

Easy service that you can make quick money at for sure. I have done it in the past and most likely do some this year again for patchy lawns.

Just make sure you do not go too heavy as you main turf will be fighting for the same resources after it comes out of dormancy.

zturncutter
11-06-2011, 03:41 PM
Also make sure you are getting paid for the extra cuts it will require during the winter.

RigglePLC
11-06-2011, 09:51 PM
And...be sure to offer (as an extra cost option), to kill the rye with a chemical in spring, so as to allow the bermuda and SA to recover easily, and without damage. I am 15 hours drive from you so I don't know the chemicals needed.

zturncutter
11-06-2011, 10:05 PM
And...be sure to offer (as an extra cost option), to kill the rye with a chemical in spring, so as to allow the bermuda and SA to recover easily, and without damage. I am 15 hours drive from you so I don't know the chemicals needed.

Really no need to do that, it dies very quickly as the temps rise in March and April.

bradsmowing
11-06-2011, 10:16 PM
ya it dies off by itself i think it make the lawn for the winter time ill post some picture as soon as my lawn starts coming in

Ric
11-06-2011, 10:23 PM
Really no need to do that, it dies very quickly as the temps rise in March and April.

Is that both Perennial and Annual Rye that dies in March???