PDA

View Full Version : Staying busy in the Winter

Oasis360
11-15-2011, 11:23 PM
I need some serious advice and feedback on ideas to get business rolling this winter... I live in the Pacific NorthWest (Portland / Vancouver metropolitan area) and Winter is fast approaching... We don't get snow regularly here so plowing isn't something that I can do, nor am set up to do... Here are my ideas so far:
Fence & Deck Weatherization (Quick Power Wash & Stain/Sealer Application)
Power Washing Siding, Roof, Gutters, & Concrete
Moss Treatments (Moss & Mildew are Washington's State Flowers hahaha)
Tree Trimming
Yard Debris Cleanup (Is Winter a good time to cleanup all the debris/leaves?)
Outside Waterline Insulation
Compost Container Installation (Either a wooden box type or rotating barrel)

I'm just starting out and hoping to get up enough money to buy a decent 21" Walk Behind, Stihl Line Trimmer w/ attachments, and a Stihl BR600 Backpack Blower to be ready for the Spring Rush next year...

Any advice is appreciated, I am 26 years old and this is going to be my full time bread and butter business from here on out

StihlMechanic
11-15-2011, 11:44 PM
Good luck. I think power washing would be a good idea where you are. I have wanted to move to your area for some time now.

HPSInc
11-16-2011, 01:34 AM
start a handy-man sorta thing. do anything and everything your capable of doing well.