PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Supplier- What do you think?

alpine meadows
11-18-2011, 02:25 PM
I have been purchasing rock from a local supplier for the past 3 years. Never had a problem with their materials until recently. We were building a granite rip rap retaining wall that required 14 tons of rock. The area was not machine accessible. This supplier was well aware of what we needed and what we were building. They proceeded to bring 100-200 lbs. boulders. Told the driver that the material was way too large and now the owner of the supply yard will not take the rock back unless we can get it to them. If I had a truck that could carry 14 tons obviously I wouldn't have had the material delivered in the first place. Any suggestions on how to deal with this supplier?

FoghornLeghorn
11-21-2011, 12:55 PM
I would try to reason with the owner of the stoneyard. If he's not willing to budge, there's not much you can do except let him know that you're never buying from him again and that you're going to tell every contractor you know that the customer service at his yard sucks.

I dunno man, good luck.

thunderthud
11-21-2011, 05:24 PM
What did you order and what did you receive? If you ordered smaller stone, and you got larger stone, then the supplier has a responsibility to come collect the wrong product and deliver the correct product.

If you called and didn't specify, and send in writing, your order then you're at the mercy of the yard.

No matter what I order, even if I am picking it up, I still send a written purchase order specifying exactly what I want and need including time for pick up, size of material, the agreed price, and my payment terms. If there is a cash discount, I take it.

I have problems with suppliers just like anyone else, I just make sure I have a record of what I agree to, and send them a copy to make sure they understand my expectations.

alpine meadows
11-25-2011, 10:21 PM