PDA

View Full Version : Drip Help


Falcon50EX
11-20-2011, 05:37 PM
I have an area that is 110' long and 30' wide it will get planted with Blue Fescue every 16" to 18" apart.
I will have a one inch supply line outlet 30' in from each end unregulated pressure is 85psi. I was going to reduce it to 40psi for drip lines at .4GPH for each plant.
Can I do the entire area on one ZONE

Thanks for any help

Wet_Boots
11-20-2011, 05:42 PM
yes you can

Falcon50EX
11-20-2011, 05:50 PM
yes you can

Thanks that was short and sweet

Falcon50EX
11-20-2011, 05:53 PM
yes you can

With .4 GPH and 40psi what would the max number on emitters you would run?

mitchgo
11-20-2011, 06:04 PM
For that you would have to know how much gpm the 1" line can give you . I may get bashed here because i'm not doing any kind of math .. but If you designed it right - you could probably do 200-250 emitters.

Mike Leary
11-20-2011, 06:14 PM
For that you would have to know how much gpm the 1" line can give you . I may get bashed here because i'm not doing any kind of math ..

O.k, you can cram about 12 gpm +/- through 1" before exceeding the 5' per second rule. Once you find the gpm available, one of Boot's Dollar Store calculators will give you number of emitters available. Take into consideration plant type and shade/sun + soil and drainage.

Wet_Boots
11-20-2011, 06:28 PM
I could care less about what emitters might be in the truck. You tally up the number of plants and multiply by the number of emitters per plant, and divide that into the gpm you have.

Mike Leary
11-20-2011, 06:31 PM
I could care less about what emitters might be in the truck.

All shrubblers are not the same gph, just in case you did not know. :rolleyes:

Falcon50EX
11-20-2011, 06:41 PM
All shrubblers are not the same gph, just in case you did not know. :rolleyes:

I am running Hunter drip line with .4 gph installed
Posted via Mobile Device

Mike Leary
11-20-2011, 06:46 PM
I am running Hunter drip line with .4 gph installed

Slam dunk once you have your gpm/gph/psi figured out.

Wet_Boots
11-20-2011, 06:48 PM
No one has a gun to your head. If you you need slower application to get it done in one zone, then you you use something different to apply the water.

Or you use more than one zone.

Mike Leary
11-20-2011, 06:59 PM
How 'bout having a tool to test? http://betterwaterind.com

click on "flow meter".

Kiril
11-20-2011, 11:55 PM
For that you would have to know how much gpm the 1" line can give you . I may get bashed here because i'm not doing any kind of math .. but If you designed it right - you could probably do 200-250 emitters.

HUH? 200 emitters = 1.33 gpm.

The guy should be using something like Netafim, and choose his emitter output and spacing based on soil type. Once he has that information, he can determine what how much line he can use for that zone.

mitchgo
11-21-2011, 12:08 AM
haha. alright 2000 emitters :).. it was a typo . ya!

RandalatA1Sprinklers
11-30-2011, 09:43 PM
I have an area that is 110' long and 30' wide it will get planted with Blue Fescue every 16" to 18" apart.
I will have a one inch supply line outlet 30' in from each end unregulated pressure is 85psi. I was going to reduce it to 40psi for drip lines at .4GPH for each plant.
Can I do the entire area on one ZONE

Thanks for any help

Rain Bird has an app for that. Punch in size,lants etc and it will spit out what you need. You can find it on their website.

RandalatA1Sprinklers
11-30-2011, 09:45 PM
HUH? 200 emitters = 1.33 gpm.

The guy should be using something like Netafim, and choose his emitter output and spacing based on soil type. Once he has that information, he can determine what how much line he can use for that zone.

Netafim is awesome!