PDA

View Full Version : Supplier Hurting the Little Man

jsslawncare
12-03-2011, 09:29 AM
I've been buying mulch from one supplier for about 3 yrs. One of my customer's wanted me to redo all of their mulched area's about, 12 yards. I went to the supplier which is in the next county south of me. I pull up to the office, tell the lady I need 6 yds which is all I can haul at one time and, she says "we no longer sell any amount at one time smaller then 14 yds".

Now the problems.
1. I had already given a rough estimate.
2. Wasted two hrs.
3. Price difference
Supplier price per yard- $15.00
Landscape supply yard price- $26.00
$11.00 difference.
4. 12 yds x $15.00=$180.00
12 yds x $26.00=$312.00
Cost difference of $132.00
My price is cost x 2 + $10.00 which is about average for my area and lawnsite.
5. Customer's cost.
Old $480.00
New $744.00
Difference of $264.00
The good- She said my estimate was low and to get enough to do the job.
My estimate was dead on. She just thinks I estimated low which was ok. The business wanted to sale to the supply yards and not to LCO's. That's fine I guess just let us know. You have my info. My last thought- They depend on LCO's for material to grind. Maybe we should haul it to our back yards. One mulch grinder has already went out of business this year because lack of material to grind.

YOU'RE HURTING THE LITTLE MAN.

Smallaxe
12-03-2011, 12:31 PM
There's no one who sells mulch that delivers a 12 yrd load that asks for it? My yard sells materials to everyone at one set cost.

I don't do business with landscape yards or nurseries, unless the client wants to support them, even with the inflated price.

We also have piles of wood chips almost everywhere that I can go load up myself if all I needed was a couple of pickup loads.

My personal yard contains wood chips and compost that I use as needed... There is always a way to get around people who have gotten to big to be useful, becuz there is always the No. 2 guy who tries harder... :)