PDA

View Full Version : New Bermuda Lawn.

gulfjoe
12-22-2011, 08:29 PM
Hi Folks,

I just had a new Tif 419 lawn installed in my new home and the sod was laid down 3 days ago. Luckily we are having rainy weather and 65+ degree temps here in Columbus Ga in the month of December. My question to you guys is.... I am new to Bermuda lawns and I am looking for a good plan to follow year round. I am willing to sink SOME bucks in the yard but not getting to crazy. I really want a site or feedback on what products to use year round, during different seasons. I have heard or LOTS of different stuff to do with Bermuda lawns and I am trying to get a feel for a happy median with the information you guys give me.

So my first real question is what is the first thing i need to do to my lawn? I know the sod has been heavily fertilized at the sod farm, but is there anything i need to do to it in the upcoming weeks/months being that it is about to get cold here. Its just taking a lil longer than normal.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Gulfjoe

Landscape Poet
12-22-2011, 09:20 PM
Here is my two cents...take it for what it is worth.

Nobody is going to give you a secret formula for prize winning Bermuda as each lawn and its environment and micro environments are different from the next. So anybody giving a solid plan for what is "ensured" to give you a great lawn is full of it.

I know you most likely just spent good money having this lawn installed. You want to protect your investment, you want to ensure it stays nice for years to come, you take pride in your home and its appearance otherwise you would not have made this investment.